Guest Reviews

Kafunta safaris

We love sharing our guests reviews and comments of Kafunta Safaris as we know you’ll love it here just as much as they have. We regularly include some reviews here but you can read more on TripAdvisor for both Kafunta River Lodge and Island Bush Camp.

Your feedback and opinion is important to us and we would very much appreciate it if you would share your experience with others on TripAdvisor.

You can also keep in touch with us and learn about the latest news at Kafunta if you follow us on Facebook.

2forest-guest-kafunta-safaris-zambia-africa-travel-game-lodge-camp-400x300

2ellies-guest-kafunta-safaris-zambia-africa-travel-game-lodge-camp-400x300

“6 fantastic days. So well looked after. Superb animals and excellent guides. A lifetime’s worth amazing experiences of the natural world. Thank you so much.”
UK. October 2016

Michael

“We visited Kafunta River Lodge in June 2015 and were so impressed that we returned in August 2016. The game viewing was superb with sightings of wild dog hunts from start to finish, lots of leopards including one up a tree with an impala, lions including mating pair, big herds of buffalo, magnificent male kudus, and the carmine bee-eaters. The South Luangwa Valley is a very special place, and we hope to return.”
Australia. September 1st, 2016

Julie and Ian

“We had a once in a lifetime experience in this beautiful park. As safari beginners we were super lucky to see a wildog hunt and kill on our first drive. There are too many impressions to describe them all. It was absolutely fabulous also the service and care of all the workers:
Netherlands. September 2016

Betty and Dirk

Scotland. August 2016
“Sad to be leaving today—it has been a great trip over from Scotland! Wonderful safari trips each day and night, the most welcoming and efficient staff and a beautiful country. Thank you for making us all feel so welcome!!! Hope to see you all again one day. Bye for now”
Scotland. August 2016

Lauren

The location is amazing and the staff provided first class service. The Safari went beyond our expectation and this was in part due to our fantastic guide Andrew, whose knowledge of the wildlife was superb. We could not have asked for anything more – if we did I am sure it would have been provided! The layout and the quality of the Lodge is exceptional. It is a first class venue that provided a first class experience. An amazing place to stay and a place recommended to experience and enjoy the wonders of Safari.
uK. Aug 2016.

Dennis & Juliana

An amazing introduction to Africa!
Wonderful friendly staff, delicious food and more animals than we ever dreamed we would see. Thank you so much and we will be back.
April 2016

Toby & Laura

Our first safari experience, what an amazing adventure! Thank you to everyone who has made us feel so welcome and well looked after. Andrew was the most fantastic guide and our 2 days with Klaus at the bush camp were like nothing we’ve ever experienced. Leopards, hippos, hyenas, wild dogs and so much more…
UK. July 2016

Max & Katharine,

After years of “friendly pressure” from Anke & Ron, we finally made it to South Luangwa and Zambia. WOW! For someone who is never “speechless”, that was how we were. Amazing, brilliant, sensational – not enough superlatives to describe what we’ve seen.
The lodge, the staff, the knowledgeable guides, all made this such an unforgettable experience. Thank you, thank you.
Hopefully we will return.
Australia. July 2016

Ken & Irene

My second stay at Kafunta was again beautiful and I enjoyed to meet well known people. It was a fantastic time here. Thank you very much to you all. I am sure I will return.
Germany. June 2016

Sabine

Thank you for the magic in the bush. You have a fantastic camp! Great staff. Bush Camp is fantastic! Thank you!
June 2016

Michael

Could not have had a better time. Many thanks to all the people at Kafunta and our marvellous guide, martin. We leave with many wonderful memories.
John & Marieke, New Zealand. Francis & Emily, Zambia. May 2016

John & Marieke, New Zealand. Francis & Emily, Zambia

Awesome stay in every way. Breathtaking experience, fantastic service. Bush camp was also amazing. Thanks to all the staff.
July 2016

Andy & Helen.

Fantastic memories and a wonderful experience. The staff are all lovely people, the management is caring and we will be coming back! A Big thank you to Pious our guide – we have learnt so much, get the gin and tonic ready for our return.
UK. July 2015

Nigel Lightbody

An absolutely wonderful trip, thank you to all the staff for making our first wedding anniversary so special, the location is stunning. Our room was lovely and the wildlife simply breathtaking! A special thanks to Josephat for being such a brilliant guide! Thank you.
UK. Sep 2015

Steve & Sarah Swinford

Fantastic location, great people, good food. Amazing first experience of Africa looking forward to come back!
France. July 2015

Catherine & Thierry Frenzel

Thank you for the wonderful time. We enjoyed very much and we hope we will come back soon! All the best for everybody 🙂 🙂 🙂
Germany. July 2015

Marion & Vanessa

Truly splendid time here. Very attentive staff and fabulous food, We would love to return.
UK. Sep 2015

Kathleen & Laura

This has been an unforgettable experience! Great hospitality! Had the best Christmas ever! Wish I could stay here longer! You guys rock and keep on rocking!
Kitwe, Zambia
December 2014

Mugala Family

Words are not enough to describe how wonderful this visit has been! Wonderful staff, fantastic food, a lovely lodge and game viewing beyond expectation! Many thanks and God bless you all!
Gotland, Sweden
August 2014

Florence & Peter Woode

Just passing through between River Camp and Lion Camp but fantasctic hospitality and this is a must for a return visit.
Oxford, England
August 2014

Gill & Doug McLure

Lifetime experience that is priceless! It’s almost like watching National Geographic live. Thanks for the marvellous hospitality and memorable stay.
Singapore
August 2014

Natalie Chen

OUTSTANDING! We made memories to last a lifetime. Hard to top this experience. Thank you to everyone.
Seattle, USA
June 2014

Heather Persinger

Simply indescribable! The setting is amazing, beautiful and the wildlife we witnessed; lions, leopard, wild dogs, elephants was phenomenal! The guides and staff did the most wonderful job! Thank you!
Texas
June 2014

Joshua & Danielle

Leopards & lions & wild dogs – oh my! Thank you Josephat for showing us your Zambia! Everyone is simply amazing. Can’t wait to come back.
Aspen
May 2014

Mike & Kat Dally

Travelling 3 weeks through Botswana and Zambia this was our last stop and a real highlight – the best place we have visited! Extraordinary everything. We enjoyed and will never forget.
Germany
April 2014

Reiner & Ingrid Ehlers

We had an outstanding experience at Kafunta. Martin’s guiding has introduced us to one wonder after another & many hilarious stories. The here are excellent and the environment is beautiful! Thank you!
Great Britain
April 2014

Clugston Family

What a beautiful and peaceful setting. Lots of wonderful animals to see. Warm welcome from beautiful people. Thank you for this experience.
Canada
April 2014

Kent & Myrna Webster

We visited Kafunta for the 3rd time! Another marvellous time! Hope to come back again! Thank you to all!
May 2013

Jan & Tineke Takken

Thank you so much for wonderful safari experience, excellent hospitality and everything! I cannot explain in English… We’d love to come back and definitely had the time of our lives staying with you.
April 2013

Christina & Janna Goers

Wonderful

South Luangwa is amazing and Kafunta is a wonderful place to stay near the park. Alison, the manager, and the team could not have made our stay more comfortable. Martin, our guide, was fantastic in finding the birds in the park, which was our interest as well as the larger animals having booked through Naturetrek.

The food was excellent, the view superb, the chalets beautiful. Cannot recommend this lodge more. We will be back at a different time of year for some Walking in the park.
March 2013

Delia

Wow.

Can you believe it? First night we saw a leopard and his impala prey up in a tree. Just started eating! Next day she (not a he btw) was back with her cubs – feeding. Wow, got some awesome photos… Apart from that we have seen it all – lion, hippo, zebra etc etc in three days only!

Thanks to Alison, the perfect hostess and her friendly staff. Yes Albert – with the biggest smile in Africa! And a special thanks to Josephat our ranger. You are wise both in bush and life! Wear your shirt with pride!!
March 2013

Michelle Krogster & Hakon Flem

Paradise

We ended up here by coincidence to celebrate the end of our self-drive trip through Zambia and it was the best choice possible (obviously it’s not open to camping, so self-drivers must stay in lodge). Everything was just perfect about this little paradise. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, the manager Mario is such a great guy doing every effort to make it an unforgettable experience. The guide of the safaris was excellent, entertaining and knowledgeable. The swimming pool was clean and it was a great place to relax and watch all the animals passing by.

Despite the dry season, there is always a little water in front of Kafunta (very rare). The rooms were stylish, comfortable and clean. The food was of the highest quality and it was a delight to enjoy dinner in candle light every night.

You can’t get it better, this is paradise that you will never want to leave again. We will certainly come back!
February 2013

Maarten Traveller

Definitely worth it!!

Stayed at Kafunta lodge for a week. Definitely a great lodge with the most excellent staff. Mario the manager, definitely a gold star for the lodge. His knowledge and passion make it an enjoyable experience as well. The tour guides were amazing, their knowledge and style makes it a well worth trip. Make sure if you get a chance you use Abel as your guide – the man is a gem and also such a sweetheart.

The watering hole in front of the lodge makes it a great site throughout the day, the rooms were pretty well kept.
January 2013

Mutriaena

Holiday – Safari

Recently returned from our third visit to Kafunta-having travelled on safari holidays in Africa for many years-Zambia is one of our favourite countries and Kafunta is one of our favourite lodges!! The game,the accommodation and staff are all first class and most of the guides have been here for many years-cannot fault it and the big plus is that it is still affordable when compared to other lodges that have hiked-up their prices in recent years-would not hesitate to recommend a stay/safari here.
February 2013

Barry and Sue Cozens

Peace and tranquility in the African bush

A beautiful setting in the Zambian bush. The waterhole and floodplain attracts animals and birds and at different times we were able to watch a large herd of elephants; giraffe; even a baby puku taking its first few steps, right from the deck, while enjoying a glass of wine! The bird life too is absolutely fantastic.

The service was amazing and we were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived. One of the most enjoyable places I have ever been to. Thank you to Alison and to Anke and Ron for a wonderful stay.
February 2013

VancouverOtter

Wow!

The best about the Kafunta Lodge is its great location just outside the park with a special entrance to the park, so you can go on safari where less cars go than near the main entrance! And we had elephants and other animals just walking through the area at night.

They probably have the best chef, the food was amaaazing, and the natural outdoor hot tub is a special extra only at Kafunta! The rooms are impeccable, very comfortable and with great views to the plains.
March 2013

Guabitas

Awesome lodge – perfect place in South Luangwa NP

We stayed in there for three days, having several interesting and marvellous activities in the park ! Very very friendly service, perfect rooms and every time the feeling of being save and very very welcome. Absolute superb guides on the trips with much knowledge over Zambia in common and the park. All people took care of us and we definitely come back again. Enjoyed the stay very very much.
The best place to stay in the South Luangwa National Park !
March 2013

Takamise Tours

If you can find a way to get here, come! From the people, you are made to feel at home. From the land and it’s secrets, you will feel awe. We will always treasure it all!
May 2013

Paul & Tricia

Faultless!! Don’t change a thing!
April 2014

Jane Clayton & Julian Thomas

The second visit for Gisela, the first for Henny. Was as great as anticipated. The park was green all over. The animals were friendly as well as all the people who looked after us. THANK YOU a hundred times.
Germany
April 2014

Henny & Gisela

Thank you for 3 wonderful nights, 4 fantastic days. Drives with exceptional views of game and nature. We will remember you all! Thanks for your hospitality and extreme service!
April 2014

Kvarsrik Family

We want to thank all the people of Kafunta who have given us a most wonderful holiday. There are no word for it to describe it all but in one word, FANTASTIC!
Netherlands
April 2014

Henk & Marjorie Agelink

Such wonderful guides and staff. We saw every animal imaginable except an Aardvark, so we will have to come back for that. THANK YOU!
Houston, Texas
June 2014

John, Melissa & Conrad Gargani

Beautiful people, extrodinary beauty, exceptional service – THANK YOU!
Texas
June 2014

Jason Sheppard

Unforgettable experience!! Thanks for making our first trip to Zambia so memorable! Andrews was a great guide. We spotted so many animals! Simply awesome!!
Singapore
August 2014

Selenium Chai

We have had an amazing time in Kafunta both river lodge and bush camp! Josephat was such a good guide and also very funny! Staff excellent, we are so sad to leave but will keep the memories close to our hearts!
Edinburgh, Scotland
August 2014

Dawn & Charlie Windsor

Thank you so much for the wonderful safari! The lodge and the animals are amazing! We enjoyed our time very much!
The Netherlands
September 2014

Jelke, Henriette & Sophie

It has been 9 years since our last visit! We loved it again! We were happy to find Wilson & Josephat still here, they made our first visit great! Thank you everyone!
Malawi and USA
March 2015

Brent & Liza Irelan