Guest Reviews

Kafunta safaris

We love sharing our guests reviews and comments of Kafunta Safaris as we know you’ll love it here just as much as they have. We regularly include some reviews here but you can read more on TripAdvisor for both Kafunta River Lodge and Island Bush Camp.

Your feedback and opinion is important to us and we would very much appreciate it if you would share your experience with others on


You can also keep in touch with us and learn about the latest news at Kafunta if you follow us on Facebook.

2forest-guest-kafunta-safaris-zambia-africa-travel-game-lodge-camp-400x300

2ellies-guest-kafunta-safaris-zambia-africa-travel-game-lodge-camp-400x300

“Thank you for another wonderful trip, As always you had a special place in my heart, Great food, Staff, Venue, Game viewing and Always Spoilt ”
Ntanga Ventures. Zambia.
18 Nov 2018

Kerry & Christina

“Thank you all the staff at the camp for their Kindness, Smiles, Competence. We will have some great memories from this stay at kafunta. And of course the wild, the animals, Elephants, Lions, Leopards, their behaviours and some good photos for us. Thanks to Chapuma and Justin. ”
France.
09 Nov 2018

Anne-Laure & Eric Baccega

“Absolutely Brilliant! Loved the Lodge, The people, The Game and will be recommending it highly to friends.”
Australia.
05 Oct 2018

Brian & Jemmy Richards

“What an unbelievable amazing first safari experience, from the beautiful scenery and magical wildlife. Interactions at the three camps, one could’nt have dreamed up a more perfect trip. The staff is so friendly and helpful and our guides Chapuma, Abel, Cephus and James always went far and beyond to make sure we enjoyed ourselves and had an adventure. Certainly hope to be back again soon ”
Boston, USA.
06 Sep 2018

Tristan and Bevin.

“Thank you very much to all the Team at Kafunta Lodge. Our stay has been amazing and the hospitality of all the staff exceptional. Kafunta has a lovely ambience created by the special people and is very easy to relax and enjoy. Cephus was an outstanding guide and we were treated to his vast knowledge and learned so much and saw so many memorable sightings. Daniel was fantastic as spotter and sundowner maker and was so enthusiastic and cheerful. Kafunta & its special people along with Zambia will remain in our hearts. ”
UK.
23 Aug 2018

The Cruickshank Family

“We saw leopards on 75% of our drives – amazing. In total 27 Mammal Species, 4 reptile species, and 86 Bird Species! What a wonderful Location for a Multi – generational sister bonding trip. Staff were brilliant and even a lovely birthday cake.”
UK and South Africa.
01 Aug 2018

Julie, Ceri, Alix, Coral and Kiara

“The Guide John was amazing, I’ve been here one day and already saw 3 leopards, 2 Lions and a ton of Elephants, Giraffes, Warthogs, Zebras, Water Buffalo. Much better than I expected. This is a fantastic Lodge and I hope to return!.”
San Diego, California.
26 Jul 2018

Sharon Moxon

Thank you to everyone at Kafunta, Island Bush camp and 3 Rivers Camp for a memorable and magical holiday on our first trip to Africa. We have enjoyed everything from the amazing wildlife to the friendly welcome and delicious food. We will never forget to our time here and hope to be back here soon.
Scotland.
July 2018.

The Ireland Family

Our second stay at Kafunta surpassed the first stay (even though it was incredible). The multitude of animals was amazing, each and every safari we saw more and more. Many thanks to our guides; John and Martin, and our spotter Dave. Their “Bush eyes” and “Bush ears” pointed out so many things us mere mortals could have never seen.

Many thanks to the staff they are a credit to Kafunta. Friendly, always big smiles, nothing was too much trouble! Loved every minute of our stay, hope to be back soon!

p.s. Sleeping under the stars of 3 Rivers was a magical experience.
Australia.
8 Jul 2018.

Irene & Ken Sanderson, Steve Hazelton.

Life is made for memories like these! Surpassed all expectations in every department! Dottie and her team were so welcoming and attentive! The Safaires showed me all that I hoped for! Martin and Chapuma are amazing, although I’m not sure I believe all of Martin’s stories. I will return.
England
June 2018

Nigel Whalley

“Another wonderful experience at Kafunta, fantastic hospitality, terrific Safaris, Three Rivers was an absolute delight.”
Australia
June 2018

John & Brenda Calder

“Fantastic first safari, thank you to all Kafunta staff. Guide Chapuma and spotter Peter were outstanding. Every drive was filled with animals and information from Chapuma!”
USA
May 2018

BG Johnson

“Wonderful, wonderful, we hope to return this is paradise.”
England
May 2018

Sue & Dick Harvey

‘Well today is the saddest day and we are getting ready to leave this beautiful beautiful lodge and spot. Jim and I have loved every moment of our visit here. All was just great being with such a lovely lovely spot and a super staff… wish we could stay forever. All the safaris were great and fun and being in the bush so exciting. Jim and I will talk about this wonderful time forever and hope our paths cross again someday. Thanks so much for everything we learned and saw and experienced. Take good care of this magnificent spot on earth and we will think of all you often. Much love and many thanks.”
Dr. James C. and Marjorie S. Waggoner, McDonough, Georgia, USA
06. November

Dr. James C. and Marjorie S. Waggoner, McDonough, Georgia, USA

“So very sad to have to leave Kafunta today. We have had such a wonderful time with all Staff being incredible welcoming, friendly and professional. Special thanks to our excellent guide, Abel, who is a credit to his profession throughout. Thanks everyone – we are already looking forward to our return. Lots of Love yours.”
10. October

David and Jo

“When we have been here last year, it was an amazing time and we were sure to be back one day… All the memories at home told us to do so and after one year we are sitting here at Kafunta once againJ We had a perfect time – thanks to everyone – you all made our stay fantastic! And s special thanks to Chapuma – we were so lucky to see that much – the last 4 days were fantastic! We had so many breathtaking sightings – it´s unbelievable – still… ”
27. September

Ruth and Nico

“Thank you Kafunta for such a wonderful holiday. Everything was perfect and I could not have chosen a better place to introduce Africa to my children. Tree Rivers Camp was also stunning, we will never forget our time there. Well done to everyone at Kafunta, you have nailed it!”
28. September

Tony, Louisa, Nelson and George Pittar

“What a magical find. Thank you to everyone for a wonderful few days which will remain with us forever! The staff have been so welcoming and Eleanor benefited from a very special birthday. Huge thanks to Jabes and Charles for sharing their knowledge and enriching our experience.”
(UK) August 2017

Alisa, Edward and Eleanor Clode-Baker

“A great stay with leopard seen everyday! Thank you to the entire staff for all your help and kindness.”
(UK and Australia) August 2017

Annie and Irvine

“Thank you for these wonderful days in South Luangwa. Thanks to the manager, guides, drivers and staff of Three Rivers Camp, Island Bush Camp and Kafunta. For sure, we will do it a third time!”
(Frankfurt, Germany) August 2017

Susan and George Reusswig

“It’s just magical here! It was my fourth time here and it was again ‘just amazing.’ 🙂 Thank you for a truly wonderful time at Kafunta, IBC and Three Rivers! It was a fantastic time here. Thank you very much to you all. Great staff, great guides, great place! I hope I will come back again!! It was a lovely stay. I will be missing all of you!!”
(Liechtenstein) August 2017

Vanessa

“Queridos amigos de Kafunta, Aunque hemos estado menos tiempo del previsto, la experiencia ha sido extraordineria, muy especialmente con nuestros guias Chapuma y Justin. Nos ha encantado el lodge, muy especialmente el trito recibido por todo el staff. Anoche disfrutamos muchisimo con la rica cena servida teniendo como telon de fondo la sabana y el rio repleto de vida silveste. Gracias por permitirnos disfuntan de este lugar que en simplemente, magico.”
July 2017

Antonio y Enrique

“I dreamed about this place and it became a reality! A paradise on earth. Where human meets animal in harmony and peace. Where nature is in balance and time stands still! Thank you Kafunta team. You made us extremely happy. Everything was perfect !!!”
(Austria) July 2017

Barbara and Walter Hoermann

“What an amazing time we had!! Truly wonderful! Thank you for your great hospitality and the friendliness of all the staff. Super game drives and knowledgable guides. We’d love to come back. XX”
(Davis USA, Kitwe, Zambia, and Johannesburg, RSA) July 2017

The Fouries

“Kafunta is a magical place. Our love for Africa is totally renewed. Great game viewing, great food, and last but not least, wonderful staff! May thanks to all of you!”

(The Netherlands) July 2017

Danny and Linda

“My stay is coming to an end after one week in paradise. Arriving to Kafunta is like coming home (7th time). No visible changes, familiar faces, Abel, the best, my guide as usual. With him, each game drive is learning and adventure. Thank you, the Cowan family, for creating this wonderful place many years ago! Best wishes to all the kind staff!”
(Struttgart, Germany) June 2017

Gisela

“We came to Kafunta to see leopards. They were on our bucket list. 3 out of 4 game drives and walking safaris – we saw leopards! We could have touched them!! Kafunta delivered! We loved the food, hospitality and staff. Many, many thanks.”
(Le Puke, New Zealand) June 2017

Ray and Shirley Hayward

“We had an incredible time! Surpassed our expectations. We felt well cared for and that our experience was important to all of the staff. William – our driver – was patient, kind and knowledgeable. Overall, your hospitality was exceptional. Thank you for your kindness and attention. We cannot wait to share our photos and stories with family and friends. Thank you!”
(Seattle, WA, USA) April 2017

Mark and Mandi Schoolmeester

“That was now our 9th time we spent in Kafunta, but was not our last stay here. We love Kafunta as our 2nd home. We enjoy the family-friendly atmosphere with excellent game drives and cuisine. Thank you for the extra celebration of my 80th birthday. It was unforgettable. See you again!”
Germany. January 8, 2017

Rosi and Harry

“Thank you all so much for making our stay at Kafunta so wonderful. You are all indeed a terrific family that makes everybody so welcome. The location is superb, the meals – divine, the service exceptional and the game drives with Abel and Peter were great. We will definitely return to see you all soon. We almost feel apart of your wonderful family. Anke and Ron, you have a wonderful life here. Lisa – thanks so much for your welcoming smile. Abel – thank you for your great laugh and sense of humor. Grant and Andrew – many thanks for your mean recitals, they were great. We will miss you all, fond regards. J ”
(Perth, Western Australia) April 2017

Nigel and Suzie Bennett

“So far – 2nd visit – only place we’ve been twice in Africa. The dogs were brilliant. Thanks.”
April 2017

Joe

“There are places in your life where you feel completely in rhythm with nature. Kafunta is one of those rare places, where when you leave you are relaxed and refreshed, but sad to go. Our second visit was quite amazing as it even eclipsed our first! Thank you to all who made it truly memorable. We have lasting love of this jewel. Thank you so much.”
UK. December 2016

Keith and Faith Brown

“Wow!! An amazing place with an incredible team, easily the best safari ever. Many thanks! The wildlife was stunning. The best Christmas ever.”
Christmas 2016

Rick and Elaine

“Thank you for a brilliant week. ALL of you help make the lodge a perfect place to stay. And what can we say about the view and the animals in the park?! – speechless.”
November 2016

Helen and Chris

“Africa has my heart. Thanks to South Luangwa National Park and Kafunta River Lodge, from the first game drive on 22nd May, Africa had my heart. The accommodation is superb and there are some lovely touches, like the tents being name and containing pictures. We stayed in the Elephant, one of our favorite animals. From the first game drive, all the hours, minutes and seconds to get here, some of which were hard and difficult, melted away. Maria, the therapist at the Fig Tree Spa, is wonderful and we enjoyed all of our treatments. Every staff member, from the night watchmen through to the owner, were very friendly and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble and the food was plenty and delicious. The guides, Abel and Jabes, were excellent. Their knowledge and skills far exceeded our expectations, apart from all our wonderful photographs we managed to take, our knowledge of the wildlife increased 10 fold. Today, Jabes went above and beyond the call of duty and helped to row the pontoon to the national park to avoid delay. Thank you all for a wonderful holiday.”
May 2017

Sharon and Ian Roberts

“My second visit here – and the whole stay, absolutely superb! I have missed seeing wild dogs (sometimes by a matter of minutes!) in several African countries – so it was wonderful to catch up with them here, at last, on this visit! They are now my favourite African animal, without a doubt! The guides here (we had Andrew, Abel and Martin) are absolutely brilliant – such a depth of knowledge! Spotters are amazing too! And Lisa and the lodge staff looked after us amazingly well! Food incredible – especially the lunches! I shall be back!”
(Nottingham, UK) November 2016

Sheila Wright

“As always, a fantastic time had by all. Thanks guys, for making it memorable – especially for our American friends. They were really blown away. See you next year.”
October 2016

Harrison Family

“6 fantastic days. So well looked after. Superb animals and excellent guides. A lifetime’s worth amazing experiences of the natural world. Thank you so much.”
UK. October 2016

Michael

“We visited Kafunta River Lodge in June 2015 and were so impressed that we returned in August 2016. The game viewing was superb with sightings of wild dog hunts from start to finish, lots of leopards including one up a tree with an impala, lions including mating pair, big herds of buffalo, magnificent male kudus, and the carmine bee-eaters. The South Luangwa Valley is a very special place, and we hope to return.”
Australia. September 1st, 2016

Julie and Ian

“We had a once in a lifetime experience in this beautiful park. As safari beginners we were super lucky to see a wildog hunt and kill on our first drive. There are too many impressions to describe them all. It was absolutely fabulous also the service and care of all the workers:
Netherlands. September 2016

Betty and Dirk

Scotland. August 2016
“Sad to be leaving today—it has been a great trip over from Scotland! Wonderful safari trips each day and night, the most welcoming and efficient staff and a beautiful country. Thank you for making us all feel so welcome!!! Hope to see you all again one day. Bye for now”
Scotland. August 2016

Lauren

The location is amazing and the staff provided first class service. The Safari went beyond our expectation and this was in part due to our fantastic guide Andrew, whose knowledge of the wildlife was superb. We could not have asked for anything more – if we did I am sure it would have been provided! The layout and the quality of the Lodge is exceptional. It is a first class venue that provided a first class experience. An amazing place to stay and a place recommended to experience and enjoy the wonders of Safari.
uK. Aug 2016.

Dennis & Juliana

An amazing introduction to Africa!
Wonderful friendly staff, delicious food and more animals than we ever dreamed we would see. Thank you so much and we will be back.
April 2016

Toby & Laura

Our first safari experience, what an amazing adventure! Thank you to everyone who has made us feel so welcome and well looked after. Andrew was the most fantastic guide and our 2 days with Klaus at the bush camp were like nothing we’ve ever experienced. Leopards, hippos, hyenas, wild dogs and so much more…
UK. July 2016

Max & Katharine,

After years of “friendly pressure” from Anke & Ron, we finally made it to South Luangwa and Zambia. WOW! For someone who is never “speechless”, that was how we were. Amazing, brilliant, sensational – not enough superlatives to describe what we’ve seen.
The lodge, the staff, the knowledgeable guides, all made this such an unforgettable experience. Thank you, thank you.
Hopefully we will return.
Australia. July 2016

Ken & Irene

My second stay at Kafunta was again beautiful and I enjoyed to meet well known people. It was a fantastic time here. Thank you very much to you all. I am sure I will return.
Germany. June 2016

Sabine

Thank you for the magic in the bush. You have a fantastic camp! Great staff. Bush Camp is fantastic! Thank you!
June 2016

Michael

Could not have had a better time. Many thanks to all the people at Kafunta and our marvellous guide, martin. We leave with many wonderful memories.
John & Marieke, New Zealand. Francis & Emily, Zambia. May 2016

John & Marieke, New Zealand. Francis & Emily, Zambia

Awesome stay in every way. Breathtaking experience, fantastic service. Bush camp was also amazing. Thanks to all the staff.
July 2016

Andy & Helen.