Guest Reviews

Kafunta safaris

We love sharing our guests reviews and comments of Kafunta Safaris as we know you’ll love it here just as much as they have. We regularly include some reviews here but you can read more on TripAdvisor for both Kafunta River Lodge and Island Bush Camp.

Your feedback and opinion is important to us and we would very much appreciate it if you would share your experience with others on


You can also keep in touch with us and learn about the latest news at Kafunta if you follow us on Facebook.

2forest-guest-kafunta-safaris-zambia-africa-travel-game-lodge-camp-400x300

2ellies-guest-kafunta-safaris-zambia-africa-travel-game-lodge-camp-400x300

“We had such a wonderful time at Kafunta! The lodge is beautiful, the staff is so nice and profesional. Chapuma showed us so many beautiful things, such a good guide. We loved every minute here. We keep South Luangwa in our heart. Thank you for all the beautiful memories you gave us!”
Holland
6 Aug 2019

Andre & Marina Terlow

“There aren´t enough words to say thank you to everyone here for such an amazing experience. Thank you to Paul, Chapuma and John for their guiding, and to Jonathan for his spotting. To Maybin and Stella for your wonderful service, and to everyone else we have met for your welcoming kindness. This is the most beautiful spot and I hope one day to return. A special thank you to the chef for my amazing gluten free food. Thank you everyone – Zikomo Kwanbilli!”
UK
2 Aug 2019

Lorraine Cronshaw

“This is without doubt one of the best places we have used and we are sad to leave. From the stuning views, to the excellent guides and game viewing, fabulous food and wonderful staff, this is a wonderful place. You should all be proud of what you have achieved and the standard of service you prvide. 5 stars is not high enough.”
31-07-2019
UK

The Harris family.

“Thank you so much for spoiling us the last several days. All was amazing! It was such a great trip for our family to remember John was so knowledgeable and patient with us. Thank you again.”
USA
04-07-2019

Dylan, Mary, Jenna & Pike

“To experience the beauty of Africa is truly a magical and wonderful treat. The valley and all its wonders helps one to reconnect with nature. For allowing us to experience this reconnection, wonder & untouched beauty, we thank the staff, managers and specialy our guide & spotter, Joseph and David of Kafunta Lodge. Your african hospitality, friendly warm smiles, good service and knowledge has given us rest and a peaceful heart to take home & cherish. Sincere thanks.”
South Africa, USA & Malawi
01-07-2019

Anieka, Henrich, Erika & Rudi (Thétard)

“Changing many things for the better! But the kindness, the helping hand when needed, the wonderful meals and many other things are the same as usual. Scenery, weather, sun and moon, together with elephants, wilddogs, leopards, giraffes, lions… did their best. Thank you for all of you with wishes from Gisela.”
Germany
26-06-2019

Gisela (11th visit)

“What an amazing experience. Everyone and everything at Kafunta were more than we ever could have expected. The staff were kind and thoughtful, the environment was fine all the way, the safaris each one a real experience, all in all Kafunta and its people are something to be treassured. We loved every minute of our stay and wih you all at Kafunta the luck of the irish for the future. We hope to be back.”
Ireland
17-06-2019

Brendan & Mary

“Thanks to all the great staff who have got to know our “quirks” very quickly. They are a lovely, friendly and caring bunch of people and we will miss them. The chalets and dining room are really comfortable and have a beautiful view over the plains with the animals coming and going. A special thanks to the chef for sorting out my (Ros) food. Courtney and TJ are an asset as they are always happy and friendly to all the clients and show genuine interest. Lastly our special thanks to a wonderful guide Jabes for his patience, knowledge and brilliant driving. We will remember you all specially when we read our blog and all the hundreds of photos. All our very best for a happy and successful future.”
04-06-2019
UK

Yvonne & Dave Rolfs, Rosalind & Geoffrey Rose

“Thank you all so very much for everything! This is our 2nd visit to Africa and we never dreamed it could be this great. Our guide, Cephas and the spotter John were excellent and full of knowledge. All staff were friendly, kind and helpful, food was excellent and we loved the wash cloths after game drives! Maria gives the best massages too. Til next time.”
USA
23-05-2019

John & Mary Van Handel

“Nice valley, original nature, smily people, we felt the diference comparing other locations. Sky with the beautiful clouds will stay in our memory forever. Thank you.”
Slovanija
01-05-2019

Jana & Darij

“Great experience, first the people and their Kindness, then the service, the landscape, the simplicity of the whole place… simply perfect! A special thank you to Courtney. She has been very helpful and very kind throughtout our stay. Will be back… All the very best in the mean time!”
Italy
25-04-2019

Antonella Benigna & Vincenzo Baggio (Benigna group)

“Kafunta was our 4th lodge of our trip through Zambia and it was the best . Everything was amazing. Friendly staff, great game driving (special thanks to Joseph) and lovely food. Kafunta is in our heart!!!”
Belgium
17-04-2019

Arthur, Emile, Julien, Yves & Annick

“Thank you for another wonderful trip, As always you had a special place in my heart, Great food, Staff, Venue, Game viewing and Always Spoilt ”
Ntanga Ventures. Zambia.
18 Nov 2018

Kerry & Christina

“Thank you all the staff at the camp for their Kindness, Smiles, Competence. We will have some great memories from this stay at kafunta. And of course the wild, the animals, Elephants, Lions, Leopards, their behaviours and some good photos for us. Thanks to Chapuma and Justin. ”
France.
09 Nov 2018

Anne-Laure & Eric Baccega

“Absolutely Brilliant! Loved the Lodge, The people, The Game and will be recommending it highly to friends.”
Australia.
05 Oct 2018

Brian & Jemmy Richards

“What an unbelievable amazing first safari experience, from the beautiful scenery and magical wildlife. Interactions at the three camps, one could’nt have dreamed up a more perfect trip. The staff is so friendly and helpful and our guides Chapuma, Abel, Cephus and James always went far and beyond to make sure we enjoyed ourselves and had an adventure. Certainly hope to be back again soon ”
Boston, USA.
06 Sep 2018

Tristan and Bevin.

“Thank you very much to all the Team at Kafunta Lodge. Our stay has been amazing and the hospitality of all the staff exceptional. Kafunta has a lovely ambience created by the special people and is very easy to relax and enjoy. Cephus was an outstanding guide and we were treated to his vast knowledge and learned so much and saw so many memorable sightings. Daniel was fantastic as spotter and sundowner maker and was so enthusiastic and cheerful. Kafunta & its special people along with Zambia will remain in our hearts. ”
UK.
23 Aug 2018

The Cruickshank Family

“We saw leopards on 75% of our drives – amazing. In total 27 Mammal Species, 4 reptile species, and 86 Bird Species! What a wonderful Location for a Multi – generational sister bonding trip. Staff were brilliant and even a lovely birthday cake.”
UK and South Africa.
01 Aug 2018

Julie, Ceri, Alix, Coral and Kiara

“The Guide John was amazing, I’ve been here one day and already saw 3 leopards, 2 Lions and a ton of Elephants, Giraffes, Warthogs, Zebras, Water Buffalo. Much better than I expected. This is a fantastic Lodge and I hope to return!.”
San Diego, California.
26 Jul 2018

Sharon Moxon

Thank you to everyone at Kafunta, Island Bush camp and 3 Rivers Camp for a memorable and magical holiday on our first trip to Africa. We have enjoyed everything from the amazing wildlife to the friendly welcome and delicious food. We will never forget to our time here and hope to be back here soon.
Scotland.
July 2018.

The Ireland Family

Our second stay at Kafunta surpassed the first stay (even though it was incredible). The multitude of animals was amazing, each and every safari we saw more and more. Many thanks to our guides; John and Martin, and our spotter Dave. Their “Bush eyes” and “Bush ears” pointed out so many things us mere mortals could have never seen.

Many thanks to the staff they are a credit to Kafunta. Friendly, always big smiles, nothing was too much trouble! Loved every minute of our stay, hope to be back soon!

p.s. Sleeping under the stars of 3 Rivers was a magical experience.
Australia.
8 Jul 2018.

Irene & Ken Sanderson, Steve Hazelton.

Life is made for memories like these! Surpassed all expectations in every department! Dottie and her team were so welcoming and attentive! The Safaires showed me all that I hoped for! Martin and Chapuma are amazing, although I’m not sure I believe all of Martin’s stories. I will return.
England
June 2018

Nigel Whalley

“Another wonderful experience at Kafunta, fantastic hospitality, terrific Safaris, Three Rivers was an absolute delight.”
Australia
June 2018

John & Brenda Calder

“Fantastic first safari, thank you to all Kafunta staff. Guide Chapuma and spotter Peter were outstanding. Every drive was filled with animals and information from Chapuma!”
USA
May 2018

BG Johnson

“Wonderful, wonderful, we hope to return this is paradise.”
England
May 2018

Sue & Dick Harvey

‘Well today is the saddest day and we are getting ready to leave this beautiful beautiful lodge and spot. Jim and I have loved every moment of our visit here. All was just great being with such a lovely lovely spot and a super staff… wish we could stay forever. All the safaris were great and fun and being in the bush so exciting. Jim and I will talk about this wonderful time forever and hope our paths cross again someday. Thanks so much for everything we learned and saw and experienced. Take good care of this magnificent spot on earth and we will think of all you often. Much love and many thanks.”
Dr. James C. and Marjorie S. Waggoner, McDonough, Georgia, USA
06. November

Dr. James C. and Marjorie S. Waggoner, McDonough, Georgia, USA

“So very sad to have to leave Kafunta today. We have had such a wonderful time with all Staff being incredible welcoming, friendly and professional. Special thanks to our excellent guide, Abel, who is a credit to his profession throughout. Thanks everyone – we are already looking forward to our return. Lots of Love yours.”
10. October

David and Jo

“When we have been here last year, it was an amazing time and we were sure to be back one day… All the memories at home told us to do so and after one year we are sitting here at Kafunta once againJ We had a perfect time – thanks to everyone – you all made our stay fantastic! And s special thanks to Chapuma – we were so lucky to see that much – the last 4 days were fantastic! We had so many breathtaking sightings – it´s unbelievable – still… ”
27. September

Ruth and Nico

“Thank you Kafunta for such a wonderful holiday. Everything was perfect and I could not have chosen a better place to introduce Africa to my children. Tree Rivers Camp was also stunning, we will never forget our time there. Well done to everyone at Kafunta, you have nailed it!”
28. September

Tony, Louisa, Nelson and George Pittar

“What a magical find. Thank you to everyone for a wonderful few days which will remain with us forever! The staff have been so welcoming and Eleanor benefited from a very special birthday. Huge thanks to Jabes and Charles for sharing their knowledge and enriching our experience.”
(UK) August 2017

Alisa, Edward and Eleanor Clode-Baker

“A great stay with leopard seen everyday! Thank you to the entire staff for all your help and kindness.”
(UK and Australia) August 2017

Annie and Irvine

“Thank you for these wonderful days in South Luangwa. Thanks to the manager, guides, drivers and staff of Three Rivers Camp, Island Bush Camp and Kafunta. For sure, we will do it a third time!”
(Frankfurt, Germany) August 2017

Susan and George Reusswig

“It’s just magical here! It was my fourth time here and it was again ‘just amazing.’ 🙂 Thank you for a truly wonderful time at Kafunta, IBC and Three Rivers! It was a fantastic time here. Thank you very much to you all. Great staff, great guides, great place! I hope I will come back again!! It was a lovely stay. I will be missing all of you!!”
(Liechtenstein) August 2017

Vanessa

“Queridos amigos de Kafunta, Aunque hemos estado menos tiempo del previsto, la experiencia ha sido extraordineria, muy especialmente con nuestros guias Chapuma y Justin. Nos ha encantado el lodge, muy especialmente el trito recibido por todo el staff. Anoche disfrutamos muchisimo con la rica cena servida teniendo como telon de fondo la sabana y el rio repleto de vida silveste. Gracias por permitirnos disfuntan de este lugar que en simplemente, magico.”
July 2017

Antonio y Enrique

“I dreamed about this place and it became a reality! A paradise on earth. Where human meets animal in harmony and peace. Where nature is in balance and time stands still! Thank you Kafunta team. You made us extremely happy. Everything was perfect !!!”
(Austria) July 2017

Barbara and Walter Hoermann

“What an amazing time we had!! Truly wonderful! Thank you for your great hospitality and the friendliness of all the staff. Super game drives and knowledgable guides. We’d love to come back. XX”
(Davis USA, Kitwe, Zambia, and Johannesburg, RSA) July 2017

The Fouries

“Kafunta is a magical place. Our love for Africa is totally renewed. Great game viewing, great food, and last but not least, wonderful staff! May thanks to all of you!”

(The Netherlands) July 2017

Danny and Linda